> Ontario Line LIVE – Learn more about the project in your community, a year-end review and what’s next – November 25, 2021 | Metrolinx Engage

Ontario Line LIVE – Learn more about the project in your community, a year-end review and what’s next – November 25, 2021

On November 25, 2021, Metrolinx hosted a virtual presentation and live Q&A about the work completed this past year to bring you better, faster and easier transit with the Ontario Line with over 550 live attendees. The presentation featured a project-wide year-end review and lookahead for the upcoming year for all stations across the Ontario Line.

During the virtual open house, we answered top-voted questions submitted by registrants, as well as live questions from participants using a call-in option. Participants asked a variety of questions related to construction impacts, plans to minimize and manage impacts, the maintenance and storage facility, findings uncovered during archaeological work at the First Parliament Site, and more. We’ll be posting responses to questions on the event page as soon as possible.

For those who weren’t able to join us, you’ll find the video recording below. We’re looking forward to holding many more meetings in the future.

Agenda

6:30PM: Meeting Begins/Opening Remarks

6:35PM: Presentation: Ontario Line year-end review

7:00PM: Questions and Answers (pre-submitted questions)

7:30PM: Questions and Answers (call-in questions via Zoom)

7:55PM: Wrap up and Closing Remarks

Meet the Speakers

Photo of Richard Tucker

Richard Tucker

Vice President, Subway Project Delivery, Ontario Line

Photo of Malcolm MacKay

Malcolm MacKay

Program Sponsor, Ontario Line

Natasha Jailal<br />

Natasha Jailal

Senior Manager, Property Acquisition

 

Photo of James Francis

James Francis

Manager, Environmental Programs and Assessment Team

Franca ​Di Giovanni​

Franca ​Di Giovanni​

Director of Community Engagement, Subways

Format & Accessibility

Questions will be answered based on popularity (total votes). We aim to answer all questions.

Please review and note that conduct inconsistent with our policies will result in removal.

To enable closed captioning, toggle captions “on” in the YouTube video player settings.

 

Comment Sort

Comments

Anonymous's avatar

rats after their dens are disturbed during construction? We all know there are rats in all big cities, Toronto is no exception. I have asked my Metrolinx area rep this question months ago and have gotten zero response. She told me that no one at Metrolinx, as far as she knew, has even thought about this issue. This seems ridiculous.

Anonymous's avatar

A major staging, storage and repair facility is planned for the southwest corner of Don Mills and Eglinton, ostensibly in the Don River Valley parkland (adjacent northwest of Ontario Science Centre). Can this facility be moved? If not, what is planned to protect this sensitive area?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 17, 2021 - 13:23

A staging, storage & repair facility is planned for SW corner of DM & EG (adjacent NW of OSC). Can u provide info? an exact location & perhaps a map of where this will be? From when till when this site will be used & what will happen on this site once its done being used. Will you be using the housing now property? or more west on the greenland?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 17, 2021 - 13:43

Congratulations on your achievements so far however I am disappointed in the lack of speed of the project. Metrolinx has to move quicker & ignore the NIMBY crowd as they will never be satisfied and will just complain. My question is how will you move the OL faster and when is the contract for the south portion going to be signed? Month or Quarter?

Anonymous's avatar

Metrolinx, your timeline (see link below) has the South & RSSOM construction begins in 2023 however the North construction circle is missing in your timeline. Can u update ur timeline & tell us when that will be? Would it be in 24 or 25?

https://www.metrolinx.com/images/greaterregion/projects/ontario-line/ont...

Anonymous's avatar

Can u provide more information & timeline of what construction will look like on & around DM&EG? When will b the earliest/latest construction here?

There will also be a staging, storage & repair facility?

As you know the SW&SE corners will have the Housing Now and NW will have the Celestica Construction. How will you all work together?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 17, 2021 - 14:28

Can u give an update on this section? Can u spend more time talking & doing a focused presentation for this area of the Ontario Line. U have spent a lot of time & resources on other sections of the line however our community at DM/EG feel like you have left us out and not focused on us. Can you commit to doing a session for this area exclusively?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 18, 2021 - 09:47

Where can I find information on the project?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 19, 2021 - 18:57

When can we expect groundbreaking to commence from the new Cosburn Station, including the northward construction towards Minton Place where bridging over the DVP will take place eventually connecting Overlea?

Please also comment on what the north end of Pape including Hopedale Ave & Minton Place will look like with est. completion timeline.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 19, 2021 - 19:30

Our community has presented an (HIA) Health Impact Assessment examining the environmental and health impact associated with the above ground Ontario Line in the Riverside / Leslieville and comparing it to an alternative underground option. Will Metrolinx consider these findings in the preparation of the OL final design and HOW?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 22, 2021 - 01:11

Do we have an idea of what the station designs will look like at Leslieville/Riverside and Gerrard Stations?

Anonymous's avatar

Your timeline on your site isn't updated. Can u update the "we are here" mark so we have a better idea of where we are? North Construction start is missing too. UPDATE!

https://www.metrolinx.com/images/greaterregion/projects/ontario-line/ont...
https://www.metrolinx.com/en/greaterregion/projects/ontario-line.aspx

Anonymous's avatar

Many of the homes along Pape Avenue are over 100 years old and built very close to the road, and I am concerned about the impact large boring machines, construction vibrations, and operational vibrations will have on the structural integrity of these homes. What are your plans to guarantee this will not negatively impact the buildings in the area?

Anonymous's avatar

How will the construction and operational vibrations/noises impact the many below-grade residents (eg. basement apartments) that live near planned underground tunnels running LRTs? And what steps will you take to minimize negative impacts on such residents?

Anonymous's avatar

Please ensure us all that Metrolinx will provide good, clear , advance details of any work within the section area that will be being done..and good advance expectations of work,notice, temp equipment storage and road closures etc.
If this is to happen to max benefit of all..we all need to receive good info to keep the process as positive!

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 07:10

Is there any study on how more than 10 years of construction will impact the lives of those living and working in the areas affected?
Either way, are there plans to mitigate the destructive potential on the community, and what are those plans?

Anonymous's avatar

To minimize tunneling costs will the Ontario Line be a third rail system like the London Docklands Light Rail ? Will the vehicles have a crash energy management system? Will the Metrolinx tracks at Riverside be positioned on a curve and what will be the associated track cant? Is this likely to influence the boarding of the Bi-level vehicles?

Anonymous's avatar

Given that you are imposing the maintenance yard AND refusing to put the alignment either on Banigan or underground to completely avoid residential homes on Overlea Blvd. (despite alternate community suggestions)...what real concessions are you giving the Thorncliffe Community given that it is bearing the worst consequences of this Ontario Line?!

Anonymous's avatar

What specific measures are planned to support and encourage safe CYCLING to/from the 15 Ontario Line stations? How much and what types of bike parking will you provide? What proportion of your ridership are expected to be cyclists? Active transportation users? Multi-modal users? How will your planned infrastructure support all of these users?

Anonymous's avatar

How are you mitigating impact on nature and the environment, including Don Valley wetlands, the Don River, trees, and wildlife?

Anonymous's avatar

What measures are being taken to make it easier for cyclists to make longer trips, overcome barriers and connect easily to transit stations? Are separated bike lanes and ample bike parking planned? How is the first- and last-mile of commuters and striving to double the number of walking and cycling trips being achieved?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 10:19

1. What are your plans for the installation of noise/sound walls between Jones and Greenwood Avenues? What other noise mitigation initiatives will be utilised, if any? What are your timelines?

2. What vibration mitigation plans will be implemented between Jones and Greenwood Avenues? Timelines?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 11:04

When will the construction and tunneling begin on Pape (specifically I am inquiring about the area north of Danforth, south of O'Connor). My house is on Pape and I am wondering what the issues will be for tunneling under my house.

Also, where (exactly) will Cosburn station be located?

W. K. Lis's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 11:54

The current setup for pedestrians and cycling using Millwood Road (Leaside Bridge) is terrible. It has narrow sidewalks and just painted lines for a cycling lane.

Could a pedestrian section and cycling section be included as part of the Ontario Line bridge over the Don Valley? Maybe be wide enough for emergency vehicles to use, just in case.

W. K. Lis's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 12:39

In the future, there maybe a GO Midtown corridor. It could pass two Ontario Line stations.

Thorncliffe Park Stn. is close to the old CPR Leaside Stn. at Millwood & Village Stn. Road. Science Centre Stn. is close to the CPR tracks at Don Mills.

Will provision be made to include possible connections to the GO Midtown corridors.

Anonymous's avatar

Did you consider running the new Ontario Line along Queen Street West rather than to the Ex, to say Roncesvalles (after which the Queen car has a dedicated right-of-way)? Alternatively, are you considering adding that capability later by incorporating a switch-out like at St George Station?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 15:56

Why would I receive a flyer November 24th advising of meetings scheduled for November 23rd and 25th?

The last session I attended, despite its description, punted any discussion on the plans for the new Pape station. What strategy is now in place and when will the holds Metrolinx has on neighbouring properties be lifted?

Anonymous's avatar

There are still virtually no details in the presentation on the impact of this project and Cosburn Station on Pape Village. What is the plan? Rumour is you are tearing down all of our shops!

Also, the flyer for these events on November 23 and 25 was delivered on November 24. Not exactly timely notice. Please do better next time.

Anonymous's avatar

I live @ 533 Richmond St W - will tunneling be done under my building or what impact will the corner of Portland & Richmond or Portland & Queen have & for what period of time ?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 24, 2021 - 17:43

Is the 800M figure you say you are saving with the above ground scheme still true for the Riverside/Gerrard section even after you are raising the bridges by 1.6 m? Also did you take into account the cost of expropriation for the many private lots that will be affected? Please show us a detailed cost comparison of both options.

Tyler's avatar

The Joint Corridor between Don Valley and Gerrard will have more traffic than anywhere else on the line 150 trains - 1500 trains. The community does not support this uptake in traffic above ground. The noise barrier walls protect up to 6 stories, any new development is over 8, East Harbour 50. Why not encase the line above ground? Park above track.

Tj's avatar

Metrolinx is saving a lot of money by going above ground dispite the overwhelming opposition from the community. The transparent walls have not been well received. Light from the trains will be seen passing by early in the morning until 2 am. Please propose an option to enclose the line above ground, with proper ventilation and adding to our parks.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 07:34

Subway tunnels diameter are 6.5 meters, the sound barrier wall is 5 M. If adding 1.5 M to build a roof over the track in the Joint Corridor why aren't we exploring this option for sound, visual and park space. Above the Go it would be at most 10 M, an extra 5 M. In parks we could embank it, connect to other roof tops, have hanging foilage. why not?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 08:40

There has been an overwhelming community response to place this line underground, why has this not had a real effect on planning? What's the point of community consultations then. The likely result is further delays to this whole project after next June's provincial election.

Anonymous's avatar

North end of line seems to cut through our building and/or three building development (each 48 stories) to be built directly in front of our building (SE corner Don Mills/ Eglinton). No room on SE corner. Will it be elevated and cross at 45 degrees Don Mills/ Eglinton? It will be an eye sore don't say cost and speed: build for the ages.

Anonymous's avatar

Metrolinx quietly updated the map showing the OL running south into Pape station veering east and it now appears to run under (residential) Muriel Ave instead of Pape Ave. Please confirm the plans for how the OL will connect with Pape station, and whether the line will run under the east or west side of Muriel.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 11:07

Is it possible the Ontario Line construction project will be delayed indefinitely or cancelled

Anonymous's avatar

An objective of the original relief line was to ease crowding on the Yonge Line and at Bloor/Yonge Station. Despite the changes, is this still an objective? How many people arrive at Bloor/Yonge in the rush hour, how many from each direction and how many from the east will divert? And how many new people will the extension of the Yonge Line add?

Anonymous's avatar

in the east end? Parks are being destroyed and no public consulation took place.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 12:48

Why is the current Go Train track number increasing? If there is an incident on the EB or WB Ontario Line tracks are the trains stuck with no additional track to alleviate congestion or can the trains switch tracks? If this service is meant to benefit our neighbourhood, it should be catering to it, not adding additional Go capacity.

Anonymous's avatar

Iqbal Halal is the heart of the South Asian community in Thorncliff Park. What are you doing to save the beating heart of this community?

Where exactly will the station at Pape and Cosburn be located? When will it be inaugurated for use?

I fully support increasing our public transportation infrastructure. But keep TP walkable to Iqbal Halal.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 13:37

My condo is currently located next to the proposed Ontario Line. With majority of people working from home, and on top of the already heavy noise pollution from the many nearby condo developments, how much of a disruption will this construction be on people? And how long will the noise be expected to take place?

Anonymous's avatar

How will heritage buildings and other buildings proposed as subway stations be impacted? Will they be innkeeping with the neighbourhood or will they stand out? This city has done a very poor job in maintaining and integrating our original buildings. Please do not knock down original buildings to make way for your stations.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 13:48

What are the locations of the launch shafts for the tunnel in the west segment? What years will they be in use? What will happen/what is planned for these locations once the project is completed?

Anonymous's avatar

Such an urban area with small house lots, houses close together and narrow roads should have below grade tracks, yet Metrolinx elsewhere has plans to bury LRT tracks in more suburban-style areas with very wide road allowances and less dense residential not in close proximity to the tracks if they were to have been above-grade.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 14:08

If an underground option is explored, will MetroLinx ensure this is a REAL community based option? This clearly was not the case last time around? I live within 80 meters of a proposed station and was not allowed feedback (nor were other immediate residents not on Pape). There is more population density along Carlaw and they need to weigh in.

Anonymous's avatar

section? What is the extent of the construction; please provide as much details as possible?

Please talk about people's homes that will have Metrolinx on the deed. What does this mean exactly and how long will Metrolinx be on the deed?

Thank you.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 14:35

With the new link, will the station be expanded? What is the impact to the residents living nearby on Richmond st or will it not extend that far? Will the osgoode hall public park area be impacted?

Anonymous's avatar

What is the specific plan for the tunnel for the Ontario Line to emerge from underground to join the above ground tracks? Where will the tunnel be placed? What will the angle of the tracks be coming up to the tunnel? What will the impact be to the houses on Pape ave in that section? What is the timeline to create this section of the Ontario Line?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 15:24

Will we maintain our local TTC service in Thorncliffe Park ( Don Mills Bus ) (100 Flemington Park Bus) (Leaside Bus)
(Thorncliffe Park Bus). Or Does this Line eliminate any of these Buses and Bus Routes. Not to say that we want this
believe me No we don't want this Yard in our backyard.

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 25, 2021 - 15:30

How much noise is this going to create in Thorncliffe Park

Anonymous's avatar

There are some rumours circulating.. such as, the building at 369 Pape, (south of Riverdale ave., just north of the tracks) might be torn down, as well as the houses south of Pape Avenue School.

Anonymous's avatar

I'm on Wellington Street just west of Bathurst. Thus, I have an interest in knowing where/when the tunnel will be constructed as it could be directly underneath me.

Anonymous's avatar

Unless there is a commitment to not increase the number of vehicles going along the line daily, you are increasing the noise pollution. Waking babies, preventing shift workers from their needed sleep and ensuring that all the problems of disrupted sleep that lead to depression and suicide are not addressed.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 16:24

Is this just a PR job? Can the above ground decision be reversed? You are destroying a community' mental health and property values.
Where does one join the opposition to this madness?

Anonymous's avatar

It’s clear there isn’t any room for a station there so we suspect Mx will be expropriating land at yet another new cost vs tunnelling and are VERY concerned about the lack of transparency. How do u expect community to stand behind u when u don’t show us your full plans?

Anonymous's avatar

towards Corktown Station what roads will be disrupted.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 16:58

There are previously approved underground options that ALREADY have supported EA and community support, and Mx continues to pretend above ground costs less without revising the budget for now needed new bridges (and obvious poor planning) and still no station designs? Where can Degrassi possibly house a station? Ru guys ok?

Anonymous's avatar

I received the notice for this meeting just a couple of hours ago.

Anonymous's avatar

Since Ontario Line will most likely be extended to Markham/New Market eventually, I believe using Warden avenue will produce many more "re-development or profit" opportunities. Construction on Don Mills road / Pape would be way TOO congested and accident prone and delay. If you want this done on time / on budget, Warden is a much better choice.

Anonymous's avatar

Corktown station will be at Front & Berkley. Yet King station is a 20-minute walk or a short ride away via 24-hour King streetcars. Wouldn't a better location be by the Go tracks to serve nearby Corus Quay/George Brown campus & all the new condos that are built/being built in the area all along Queen Quay?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 18:01

Where will the subway entrances be in the Pape and O'conner area?

Also, I live one block east from Pape, what are the expected noise levels?

Anonymous's avatar

near the Millwood Bridge, then continues over Millwood Rd. where does the line pass by the existing Salvation Army building? This would mean, which side of the existing Salvation Army building?

Anonymous's avatar

This line will be isolating the neighbour hood from accessing the Don Valley. In addition this will be going through the HousingNow area (with multiple buildings and a school). This excessive closeness is both a security and a safety issue for the school being built.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 18:31

Including offsetting the cost of Riverdale underground by by putting the Etobicoke section above ground

Anonymous's avatar

Will the interchange stations at osgoode, queen, and pape use an island platform and two sides like the Sheppard platforms at Sheppard-Yonge. Will it look like a normal station or be something different. And if it is like a normal station why isn't more capacity being built into it to avoid crowding like what is seen at bloor yonge

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 18:33

Given that Toronto has cold snowy winters, why is Metrolinx not building the complete "subway" line underground?

Anonymous's avatar

In each direction
On Don mills road.
I assume the elevated line is at the center of Don Mills Road.

Anonymous's avatar

Metrolinx construction is going to have profound effects on many communities in the city core over many years. This creates not just inconvenience but also serious safety concerns. Would Metrolinx consider negotiating a Code of Consider Construction practices along the line of https://www.ccscheme.org.uk/ccs-ltd/code-of-considerate-practice-2/

Anonymous's avatar

How long will Metrolinx be occupying the site in the West Don Lands that was intended to be the location of a needed elementary school. Will it just be used for the Early works part of the Don River work? or will it also be needed for Portal construction. When will it come back to the community for school construction?

Anonymous's avatar

the existing subway fleet? These vehicles are smaller. When TTC L2 is ATC equipped, the relief (Ontario) line will have less capacity. With the Scarborough subway extension and North Yonge extension, there will be even a greater need for an effective relief route. From the east, the Ontario Line will not be able to provide that capacity.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 18:47

will Ontario line train cars be able to be used on the TTC subway and vis a versa?

Anonymous's avatar

According to CBC radio, the area around Corktown station will be sold to condo developers. Have other options been considered to better serve the surrounding community?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 19:02

Hello
My question is in regards to the exact locations of the tunnels - specifically under Pape st.
Previously the Relief Line published exact locations of the underground tunnels in comparison to the main street.
Has the Ontario Line published this information yet?
We would like to know how this tunneling will affect us throughout the years.

Anonymous's avatar

between Victoria and University? You are closing Queen in this area for construction anyway. There is a lot of traffic congestion in this section. Giving streetcars the ability to move through here unimpeded as well as making the transfers between subway, Ontario Line and streetcar seamless will move people faster as well.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 19:09

If there is a track problem at the egress of the storage yard, there won't be any trains running. This has happened to the TTC at Leslie street barns for the streetcars. Line 2 has trains stored at Kennedy, Kipling, Keele over night. Line 1 has two different yards. You don't.

Anonymous's avatar

It would be great for the waterfront. Your map shows the new areas they’re building are within walking distance of Corktown Station.

Anonymous's avatar

How is additional park space being provided when the total track width has increased - you are showing long slivers of barely usable land that cannot possibly add up the the numbers you are indicating.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 25, 2021 - 19:19

Seems like we are running far behind on the agenda tonight, so unfortunately this means less time for questions

Anonymous's avatar

ark where the iqbal plaza and where muslims in thorncliffe go to shop and pray

Anonymous's avatar

I hope this isn't an invasive question, but we're in a hot debate about what it could be!

Anonymous's avatar

Not Malcolm, but James! Sorry for mixing the two of you up.

Anonymous's avatar

I am not referring to the boring which will be 30 metres below ground. I am referring to when the line is finished, from Pape Stn going north.

Anonymous's avatar

Considering the City's former plans for a library and part at the First Parliament site, what public amenities are being considered as part of the OL and transit oriented development vision for the site? Sorry if I missed this in the presentation.