> Ontario Line LIVE – Learn more about the project in your community, a year-end review and what’s next – November 23, 2021 | Metrolinx Engage

Ontario Line LIVE – Learn more about the project in your community, a year-end review and what’s next – November 23, 2021

On November 23, 2021, Metrolinx hosted a virtual presentation and live Q&A about the work completed this past year to bring you better, faster and easier transit with the Ontario Line with over 400 live attendees. The presentation featured a project-wide year-end review and lookahead for the upcoming year for all stations across the Ontario Line.

During the virtual open house, we answered top-voted questions submitted by registrants, as well as live questions from participants using a call-in option. Participants asked a variety of questions related to community engagements, supports for businesses, accessibility, traffic and road impacts, and more. We’ll be posting responses to questions on the event page as soon as possible.

For those who weren’t able to join us, you’ll find the video recording below. We’re looking forward to holding many more meetings in the future.

 

 

Agenda

6:30PM: Meeting Begins/Opening Remarks

6:35PM: Presentation: Ontario Line year-end review

7:00PM: Questions and Answers (pre-submitted questions)

7:30PM: Questions and Answers (call-in questions via Zoom)

7:55PM: Wrap up and Closing Remarks

Meet the Speakers

Photo of Richard Tucker

Richard Tucker

Vice President, Subway Project Delivery, Ontario Line

Photo of Malcolm MacKay

Malcolm MacKay

Program Sponsor, Ontario Line

Natasha Jailal<br />

Natasha Jailal

Senior Manager, Property Acquisition

 

Photo of James Francis

James Francis

Manager, Environmental Programs and Assessment Team

Franca ​Di Giovanni​

Franca ​Di Giovanni​

Director of Community Engagement, Subways

Format & Accessibility

Questions will be answered based on popularity (total votes). We aim to answer all questions.

Please review and note that conduct inconsistent with our policies will result in removal.

To enable closed captioning, toggle captions “on” in the YouTube video player settings.

 

Comment Sort

  • Sort questions:
  • Date
  • Popularity

Comments

Anonymous's avatar

Given that you are imposing the maintenance yard AND refusing to put the alignment either on Banigan or underground to completely avoid residential homes on Overlea Blvd. (despite alternate community suggestions)...what real concessions are you giving the Thorncliffe Community given that it is bearing the worst consequences of this Ontario Line?!

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:07

We have thoroughly looked at all the impacts associated with locating the MSF in numerous locations across the city and in Thorncliffe Park, with the aim of minimizing impacts to jobs, local businesses and organizations. The site we chose met all the technical requirements while having the fewest such impacts and, better still, we were confident that we would be able to work closely with impacted businesses and organizations in the area to relocate them within the community and protect jobs. We are fully engaged in that work now and we remain committed to ensuring the businesses and services people rely on remain as staples in the community.

We also moved the alignment from the centre of Overlea Blvd to the north side because of residents’ feedback. We’re working with community members to understand their needs and how this new transit in the community can support those goals.

We recently engaged the community on design options for design options for the public-facing perimeter walls, fences and landscaping around the Ontario Line maintenance and storage facility site, as well as the public spaces below the elevated guideways where the trains will run. This survey was one step in a longer design and engagement process, during which the community will have more opportunities to provide input and guidance as plans come together. Discussions will continue well into the future as the project moves forward.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 12, 2021 - 16:07

Can please give an example of a meaningful change that you have made to the plans/designs for the Ontario Line based on the feedback provided by the community.

It feels like you are offering us options of colour and aesthetic, but the bottom line is that the substantive concerns that we raise here are more or less being ignored.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:09

We are sharing the feedback we receive with our project planners and designers and incorporating changes wherever possible.

In the northern section of the route that will serve Thorncliffe Park, we moved the line from the centre of Overlea Blvd to the north side because of residents’ feedback. We also shifted more of the route off Overlea Blvd to avoid potential impacts to the local school and cricket pitch.

Along the section of the line that runs through the GO rail corridor in Riverside and Leslieville, we’ve ensured there will be no construction access through parks to minimize disruption and will only use main streets for access. We are also making the parks bigger and protecting as much greenspace as possible because we’ve heard how important this is to the community.

To address concerns about noise and vibration, we are building continuous noise walls along the joint rail corridor in Riverside and Leslieville – an improvement that will make the sounds of passing trains even lower than they are today in most areas.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 14, 2021 - 02:26

With the Maintenance Storage Facility being built in the Thorncliffe Park area, is there a business plan on how to relocate the business to remain in the area as well?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:10

We are working with all affected owners, businesses and organizations to relocate them within the community or nearby.

We have a dedicated team of professionals whose sole purpose is to support businesses and employees through the acquisition process, working to understand their unique needs so that we can develop tailored support plans for each one.

When businesses are displaced by the construction of a transit project, Metrolinx is firmly committed to working with owners and tenants to help them relocate and continue operating. If operations are impacted, Metrolinx provides compensation and supports.

We understand that moving can be a challenge at the best of times and may be particularly difficult given the pandemic. We are committed to making sure this process goes as smoothly as possible for everyone.

Anonymous's avatar

Will it cut across the land owned by 1 Leaside Park Drive ? Will it be elevated or at street level ? Is elevated it makes no sense for the climate in Toronto.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 14, 2021 - 02:25

I was wondering if we have an idea of what the station designs will look like at stations like Science Centre Station, Flemingdon Park and Thorncliffe Park Stations?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:11

We will be able to share details of the exact station design and location as we move through procurement and receive innovative design proposals from successful bidders. We will be looking at a number of options to ensure both systems function and serve customers well. We are planning to share early concept renderings in the near future.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 14, 2021 - 02:35

When is the earliest that construction will begin on the Ontario Line?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:13

We will soon start making upgrades at Exhibition Station for the Ontario Line, which will be the first groundbreaking for the project. Stay tuned for updates in the weeks to come!

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 18, 2021 - 23:43

With the EGLRT being west before even the construction is completed will we see same here? We need the OL to go more up north. Eglinton is not enough and we need it go all the way to Steeles at least. Can you provide information on the OL Extension paths for the north component i.e. is up Don Mills the only option? or up DVP? or up VP? or up Leslie

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:13

Our plans protect for the possibility of expanding the line in the future to improve transit access and meet demand, but this is not part of the current project’s scope. Tail tracks, north of the Science Centre Station, will provide space for the storage of vehicles and protect for future expansion.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 19, 2021 - 16:56

I am very concerned about your statement regarding Flagging property that you may require to expropriate during this project.
When will you be able to give us the dimension for your Transit Corridor Lands, so this will give us a better feeling as to whether our property is in your way.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:14

You can see the boundaries of the transit corridor lands and look up your address to see if your property falls within these designated lands on our interactive online map at metrolinx.com/corridormap. The boundary is labelled as the “Transit Corridor Lands + 30-metre buffer area” and shown in blue. The planned Ontario Line route is shown in maps here.

If you received the letter we sent about transit corridor lands, that does not necessarily mean that we need to access or acquire your property in the future – you will receive separate letters if either situation applies.

Transit corridor lands represent the areas where we need to carry out activities to plan and build the project, including noise and vibration studies, traffic access planning, and utility relocations, to name a few. We wanted to account for an array of needs that might come up during the delivery of this complex infrastructure project, which is why the boundaries extend further away from the planned route of the project in certain areas. You can find more information at Metrolinx.com/Property.

Anonymous's avatar

Good day Dear, Metrolinx Liaison officer (s)
Thank you so much for the invitation to attend
Ontario Line Virtual Open House:
I am taking this opportunity to submit the question for Expropriation of 4 Thorncliff Park Drive property full chronology of events so far.
When was the very first time IST was made aware of an Expropriation? Thx

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:15

Property discussions between owners and Metrolinx are private and confidential.

Metrolinx will contact a property owner directly as early as possible if the project will directly or partially impact their property. After that, we will arrange to meet with the property owner to answer any questions they may have, including how much property is needed and why, how the acquisition process works, and expected timelines.

Please note that expropriation is only initiated if it becomes clear that an agreement might not be reached within the required timelines for a specific project. The preferred approach is always to negotiate directly with owners to reach amicable, mutually beneficial agreements. Even when a property is expropriated, Metrolinx continues to negotiate with owners in the hope of reaching an agreement.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 11:50

After receiving over 10000 signatures from community members objecting to the proposed train yard in Thorncliffe Park, what measures have you taken to view alternate locations? At what point do the voice of 10000+ individuals start to matter? Any response to the numerous propositions made by SaveTPark?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:16

We have thoroughly looked at all the impacts associated with locating the MSF in numerous locations across the city and in Thorncliffe Park, with the aim of minimizing impacts to jobs, local businesses and organizations. The site we chose met all the technical requirements while having the fewest such impacts and, better still, we were confident that we would be able to work closely with impacted businesses and organizations in the area to relocate them within the community and protect jobs. We are fully engaged in that work now and we remain committed to ensuring the businesses and services people rely on remain as staples in the community.

We also moved the alignment from the centre of Overlea Blvd to the north side because of residents’ feedback. We’re working with community members to understand their needs and how this new transit in the community can support those goals.

We recently engaged the community on design options for design options for the public-facing perimeter walls, fences and landscaping around the Ontario Line maintenance and storage facility site, as well as the public spaces below the elevated guideways where the trains will run. This survey was one step in a longer design and engagement process, during which the community will have more opportunities to provide input and guidance as plans come together. Discussions will continue well into the future as the project moves forward.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 12:24

We don't want the train yard in Thorncliffe and do not like the big buildings that Save TPark wants. Put the people first, developers last.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:18

We have thoroughly looked at all the impacts associated with locating the MSF in numerous locations across the city and in Thorncliffe Park, with the aim of minimizing impacts to jobs, local businesses and organizations. The site we chose met all the technical requirements while having the fewest such impacts and, better still, we were confident that we would be able to work closely with impacted businesses and organizations in the area to relocate them within the community and protect jobs. We are fully engaged in that work now and we remain committed to ensuring the businesses and services people rely on remain as staples in the community.

Anonymous's avatar

Would you consider opening perhaps Pape to Osgoode first? or you will open the whole line at once no ifs, buts or whatever else. Has your team considered opening different parts separately?? Is that off the table completely?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:19

The construction of Ontario Line stations falls under two different procurement packages on two different timelines.

The South Civil, Stations and Tunnel package covers Exhibition to Corktown stations, including Osgoode Station. The North Civil, Stations and Tunnel package includes East Harbour to Science Centre stations, including Pape Station.

Staggering the procurement timing for the northern and southern contracts will help ensure the market has capacity to participate in the project, which will in turn ensure the best teams are in place to successfully deliver the Ontario Line.

While the procurement for the northern and southern sections of the line will be staggered, major construction for both segments – and the integration of the lines – will be coordinated to allow for the same in-service date for the full line. 

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 10:04

I have heard horrible rumours that the station at Cosburn and Pape will be tearing down all of the buildings from Cosburn to Gamble. You have already removed the gas station and stores that were at Gamble and Pape. My pharmacy is in this block and is a crucial part of this neighbourhood. Also, there has been renovations done.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:21

We understand that residents and businesses want those details, and we will reach out to impacted property owners at the earliest opportunity. We are still finalizing property requirements for the areas around the Ontario Line’s Pape station and Cosburn stations.

If Metrolinx confirms that a property is needed to support construction or operation of the project, the property owner will receive written notification from us informing them that this is case. Whether we have to acquire a portion of a property or the entire property, the owner will be compensated.

Metrolinx is committed to providing as much time as possible. The acquisition process can take up to 18 months but can also be completed earlier, depending on the specific case. In all cases, owners are compensated for their property at a price they could expect through a sale at fair market value.

In cases where property can be handed back to an owner after construction, Metrolinx ensures it is restored to its pre-construction state or better. Whenever Metrolinx needs to acquire property to support a new transit project, our commitment is to ensure that owners and tenants do not experience a financial loss.

Anonymous's avatar

...during construction along Queen and Sherbourne? Will businesses be able to remain open along Queen? If so will accessible paths even for wheelchairs be put into place and maintained regularly?
Construction creates dust and debris, how will this be mitigated? Will it be cleaned on a regular basis?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:22

There are no full road closures anticipated at Queen and Sherbourne due to Ontario Line construction, but there will be some temporary lane and sidewalk impacts.

Our teams worked closely with our City of Toronto counterparts on detailed planning and coordination for Ontario Line construction through the downtown area. This work has culminated in a report to the City Council’s Executive Committee, which the City has released and posted here on their website. You can also find more details about the traffic lane and road impacts here in Appendix A.

We’re committed to ensuring local businesses remain accessible, visible and successful during and after the construction phase for this important project. We’ll work with the business community to keep them informed about construction and provide them with flexible and tailored supports, from making sure store fronts are clear and easy to access, to working together on promotions and incentives to encourage people to shop local. We’ll work together to create innovative promotional opportunities for impacted businesses to participate in, business support workshops and other attractions and opportunities that will bring shoppers to the area.

Being a good neighbour in the communities we serve is important to us. We will develop and implement a construction Noise and Vibration Management Plan with our constructor to anticipate and address any potential disruptions. We have a number of different measures we can put in place to reduce and manage any impacts to our communities, including specific limits for construction noise at different times of the day, using water sprayers to reduce dust and using construction equipment and methods that minimize noise and vibration.

During construction, we will have a 24-hour hotline giving the community direct access to someone who can listen to their concerns and address any issues. We will also have community offices along the route where we’ll be available to answer questions, provide updates and help support the community through construction.

Anonymous's avatar

With Toronto in serious contention to be a world cup host for the 2026 FIFA world cup, how will plans for Ontario Line impact transit at Exhibition, especially for fans that will arrive from around the world?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:23

Metrolinx is aware that Toronto is in the running to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup, and we’re excited for this opportunity for the city!

The Ontario Line will not be in operation until construction on the entire line is complete, but every effort will be taken to ensure that GO service and access is maintained at Exhibition Station during Ontario Line construction. Metrolinx will coordinate with the appropriate transportation agencies to mitigate any impacts caused by construction prior to the work beginning.

The station will remain open during construction and any changes to access points or walkways will be communicated early and often across multiple channels to keep customers moving.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 01:08

Considering the North Extension up Don Mills from DM/EG will be elevated... Is there a possibility Metrolinx commences planning for an extension sooner rather than later since it will likely be much simpler with no tunnelling needed... If so how North you think it can make it Steeles, Finch or Sheppard? Thx

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:24

Our plans protect for the possibility of expanding the line in the future to improve transit access and meet demand, but this is not part of the current project’s scope. Tail tracks, north of the Science Centre Station, will provide space for the storage of vehicles and protect for future expansion.

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 23, 2021 - 12:07

Will tunnelling under Queen St W from University Ave. To Spadina Ave. totally rip up the street disrupting walk by and traffic. Or will it be deep in the ground underneath? If it is being ripped up, how long will it be for?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:25

We are mining the Ontario Line tunnel underground for the Queen/Spadina and Osgoode stations in this area between openings called ‘keyholes’, which will be located within the footprint of the station entrance buildings. We do not anticipate a full road closure to be associated with this station construction.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 16:58

The station locations posted appear to affect several large mature trees at the corner of Queen and University - can this entrance be moved to avoid this?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:27

Metrolinx is committed to avoiding tree removal wherever possible. We do know that some trees will need to be removed to complete both the Early Works as well as the main works for the Ontario Line. We are working to advance the details to confirm which trees will have unavoidable impacts and need to be removed.

Any tree removal on public/city land will require permits from the City of Toronto which necessitate a 3:1 replacement ratio. Metrolinx also follows our Vegetation Compensation Guideline that dictates how tree removal and compensation takes place on our own land. More details on tree removal and compensation will be provided in our Environmental Impact Assessment Report that will be made available to public review in January 2022. 

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 23, 2021 - 13:49

Will the trains be low-floor or high-floor?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:27

The property requirements to safely construct the tunnel portal in the Gerrard Carlaw plaza are still being refined and finalized. We plan to provide an update to the community in January 2022.

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 14, 2021 - 20:39

When will homeowners being expropriated learn more about timing and process?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:28

We understand that residents and businesses want those details and we will reach out to impacted property owners at the earliest opportunity. If Metrolinx confirms that a property is needed to support construction or operation of the project, the property owner will receive written notification from us informing them that this is case.

Expropriation is only initiated if it becomes clear that an agreement might not be reached within the required timelines for the specific transit project. The preferred approach is always to negotiate directly with owners to reach amicable, mutually beneficial agreements. Even when a property is expropriated, Metrolinx continues to negotiate with owners in the hope of reaching an agreement.

Anonymous's avatar

and below ground? specifically south of the Danforth? Better communication required as we received the invite for virtual open house Nov 23 on the 23rd of NOV.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:32

South of the Danforth, the Ontario Line run above ground alongside GO trains in the existing Lakeshore East rail corridor from the Don Yard to Gerrard and Pape.

We understand there were some delivery issues with the notices we sent out to community members across the project inviting them to the two virtual open houses on November 23 and 25. We truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the late arrival.

We have the video recordings of the virtual open houses available on the event webpages after the event, so anyone who is interested can watch them at their convenience. The opportunity to submit questions also remains open for some time after the open house, so residents can continue to submit questions. We respond to questions on the event page in the coming weeks following the open houses.

We also have a Book a Meeting feature on our website, where residents can book a one-on-one meeting with a member of our Community Relations team at a date and time that works for them.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 17:03

The station location seems to show the loss of several storefronts on Queen beside the western station entrance. Can this be prevented?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:33

We will not require any businesses to relocate due to construction plans in this area. The planned Queen Street closure and streetcar diversion from 2023 to 2027 will include the portion of Queen Street east of Bay Street to Victoria Street, but we will maintain pedestrian access within the portion of Queen Street closed to vehicles and streetcars. Customers will still be able to access the storefront businesses in this area.

We’re committed to ensuring local businesses remain accessible, visible and successful during and after the construction phase for this important project. We’ll work with the business community to keep them informed about construction and provide them with flexible and tailored supports, from making sure store fronts are clear and easy to access, to working together on promotions and incentives to encourage people to shop local. We’ll work together to create innovative promotional opportunities for impacted businesses to participate in, business support workshops and other attractions and opportunities that will bring shoppers to the area.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 17:05

What is being done to protect the community from displacement as the neighborhood changes?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:33

Access to quick and easy transit and reducing congestion on existing routes is key to setting communities up for success, but we know this is just one of many factors that keep our neighbourhoods liveable and accessible.

With the Ontario Line, 47,000 more jobs will be accessible in 45 minutes or less for the average Toronto resident, and 227,500 more people will be within walking distance to transit.

We are committed to collaborating with communities to make sure that this new line is delivered for the benefit of all individuals, families and businesses in the city.

Anonymous's avatar

Why was the 2nd most voted question asking about actual concessions specific to Thorncliffe Pk completely ignored? Despite the claim that the Thorncliffe Community welcomes the OL - the community wants responsible transit growth but NOT the current plans. This is evidenced by the huge rejection of the OL design in Thorncliffe on your media posts.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:34

We acknowledge that we were not able to answer all submitted questions during the live open house and apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Please rest assured that we post answers to submitted questions after each open house.

We have thoroughly looked at all the impacts associated with locating the MSF in numerous locations across the city and in Thorncliffe Park, with the aim of minimizing impacts to jobs, local businesses and organizations. The site we chose met all the technical requirements while having the fewest such impacts and, better still, we were confident that we would be able to work closely with impacted businesses and organizations in the area to relocate them within the community and protect jobs. We are fully engaged in that work now and we remain committed to ensuring the businesses and services people rely on remain as staples in the community.

We also moved the alignment from the centre of Overlea Blvd to the north side because of residents’ feedback. We’re working with community members to understand their needs and how this new transit in the community can support those goals. Discussions will continue well into the future as the project moves forward.

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 22, 2021 - 18:38

Is it true that these vehicles will not be manned with transit employees, or is it merely no drivers? I ask because I'd like some clarity around response times when issues or delays inevitably occur, such as responding to issues like door jams, or should more seriously should customers pull alarms for assistance, or an emergency egress be required.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:35

Safety is central to everything we do – we would not design or operate a service that was not safe for our customers, our communities, or our employees. Remotely operated trains that run on an automatic signalling system are currently considered to be the safest model in use. They have been adopted by subway systems around the world, including those in Vancouver, London, Paris and Singapore.

We will use a dedicated signalling system that will use the latest signalling and monitoring technology. This system will ensure trains are in constant communication with one another so their precise location is known at all times, meaning vehicles always stay a safe distance from one another. With sensors that can detect objects on the tracks, trains will also automatically stop if there is something blocking the way. Moreover, train doors will automatically open and close in sync with platform edge doors that will be installed at all stations, keeping both passengers and objects safely separated from moving vehicles.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:36

We will soon start making upgrades at Exhibition Station for the Ontario Line, which will be the first groundbreaking for the project. Stay tuned for updates in the weeks to come!

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 14:48

Why do you upload the power point literally minutes before the presentation. Some people have accessibility issues and to ensure equality for all participants can you commit to posting the presentation materials the night before to allow us to review it and be prepared for discussion. Some of us are slower in comprehending. Can u upload night be4?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:37

We acknowledge that the presentation was uploaded to the website close to the beginning of the session, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We make sure to upload the presentation in advance of the open houses so participants can follow along if they wish, and our panellists also walk through the presentation during the live event.

After the event, we also post the video recordings of the virtual open houses on the event webpages after the event, so anyone who is interested can watch them at their convenience. The opportunity to submit questions also remains open for some time after the open house, so residents can continue to submit questions. We will respond to questions on the event page in the coming weeks following the open houses.

Anonymous's avatar

The previous version of the line had a stop called Sumach which was going to serve the Regent Park area. Which are the reasons at the core of this change?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:38

As outlined in the Ontario Line Initial Business Case, Metrolinx has chosen 15 station locations that improve access to transit for the greatest number of people.

The Ontario Line is projected to generate 389,000 daily boardings, compared to 206,000 with Relief Line South. The Ontario Line would provide walking distance access (800 metres or ten minute walk) to rapid transit for 154,000 new people, compared to business as usual, almost twice the number of people who would gain access to rapid transit with the Relief Line South in place. The Ontario Line station locations are within walking distance for 34,000 low-income people as opposed to 19,000 for the Relief Line South.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 19:12

And we are excited to have access to so many great parts of the City. Please build as soon as possible.
But we don't support the P3 construction methodology. Too bad Mx couldn't build with Design, Build, Bid - best for taxpayers.
But, we support this project.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:38

Thank you for your support! We’re excited to be bringing much-needed transit to the people of Toronto, and it’s always encouraging to read messages like this.

An advantage of using the P3 methodology is the ability for the private sector to introduce innovation into the construction approach or design of an infrastructure project within the strict output specifications set by Metrolinx and Infrastructure Ontario.

Based on prior experience and lessons learned, Metrolinx and Infrastructure Ontario have made refinements to the P3 model for the Ontario Line. In order to attract a competitive number of bidders, there will be three separate P3 contracts for the Ontario Line. Right now, we have two of these contracts in the Request for Proposals phase and looking to issue the Request for Qualification for the last one in 2022.

Anonymous's avatar

Why can the north section from Thorncliffe to Science Centre not be put underground? The raised track looks very ugly and will destroy the aesthetic quality of Overlea and Don Mills Rd. Also, if it's underground won't it last a lot longer than the raised tracks?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:44

The reason that the Ontario Line is above ground through Thorncliffe Park and Flemingdon Park is that the geography of the area.The three ravines that the line needs to cross here would make constructing underground tunnels very challenging and would result in very deep stations with much longer connection times for commuters transferring from buses. 

Both Overlea and Don Mills are wide enough that they can accommodate an elevated guideway, and Metrolinx will be looking to example elevated transit lines in cities like Vancouver, London, Shanghai, Singapore, and Copenhagen to create an elegant structure that complements the character of the neighbourhood. 

The public spaces underneath the guideway (tracks) will be designed with community input so that they can function as community assets. We recently had an initial online survey focusing on community priorities for these spaces, and we will continue to reach out to the community as designs progress. We have also been meeting regularly with the condo boards of 1 Leaside Park Drive and the Leaside Green townhouse complex to share project information.

Anonymous's avatar

Anonymous
Nov 14, 2021 - 02:32

I was wondering what the subway cars are going to look like and how fast can they go?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:45

The Ontario Line will feature GOA-4 trains, which are electric and driverless. The trains are expected to reach a top speed of 80km/hour and average speed of 30km/hour. The train cars are currently being designed and priced in a worldwide competition as part of the procurement process.

We expect to select a company next year to deliver the trains under the Rolling Stock, Systems, Operations and Maintenance package. You can also learn more about trains and technology on our website.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 01:05

As you are aware the Fifa 2026 Olympics will be held in 2026 at Exhibition Place BMO Field. Will the Ontario Line team fast track this project to get it complete in time. Perhaps having the south civil operational from Pape to BMO but I guess the MSF is in Thorncliffe Park so the whole line has to be operational in order for it to function correct?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:46

Metrolinx is aware that Toronto is in the running to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup, and we’re excited for this opportunity for the city!

The Ontario Line will not be in operation until construction on the entire line is complete, but every effort will be taken to ensure that GO service and access is maintained at Exhibition Station during Ontario Line construction. Metrolinx will coordinate with the appropriate transportation agencies to mitigate any impacts caused by construction prior to the work beginning.

The station will remain open during construction and any changes to access points or walkways will be communicated early and often across multiple channels to keep customers moving.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 18:50

What is the estimated impact on commute times be for riders taking the Queen Streetcar while it is diverted for 4.5 years?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:47

Travel times for the 501 streetcar will be impacted similarly to vehicular traffic as a result of the closure during Ontario Line construction. Estimated travel time impacts are bound from Bathurst to Parliament on east-west streets from Dundas to Front. These reflect the highest estimated travel time changes at peak hours in this localized area:

  • Up to +3 minutes in AM peak
  • Up to +8 minutes in PM peak

Our teams worked closely with our City of Toronto counterparts on detailed planning and coordination for Ontario Line construction through the downtown area. This work has culminated in a report to the City Council’s Executive Committee, which the City has released and posted here on their website. You can also find more details about the traffic lane and road impacts here in Appendix A.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:48

We’ll tailor our protections to each area depending on the work that’s taking place. Options include using construction equipment silencers and muffling devices, but we’ll explore many other methods that can minimize vibrations. We’ll also be coordinating construction schedules so that noisy work happens when it makes the most sense.

We are also preparing a full Environmental Impact Assessment Report (EIAR), which will include studies and proposals for managing noise and vibration impacts during both construction and operation of the line. The EIAR is tracking to be released in January 2022.

We will release the report first in draft form, so the public has an opportunity to review the report and provide feedback. The feedback we receive during the consultation period is then factored into the final report.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:49

More details on the Community Benefits plan for the Ontario Line will be shared once it is available. That said, we are happy to outline the approach we will be using.

Metrolinx recognizes that its major infrastructure investments should provide benefits for the communities in which it works, including employment, training, apprenticeship, local supplier and social procurement opportunities where possible.

We look forward to working with our federal, provincial and City of Toronto partners. At each work site, we want our contractors to be good neighbours in the communities they are working within.

As we move forward, we are working with our industry partners to tackle systemic racism in the construction industry.

Metrolinx is committed to continue working with local and diverse communities on community supports as we move towards building our subway program, working in a collaborative manner with residents, businesses, and other stakeholders to share information, resources, and learnings throughout the Golden Horseshoe.

Anonymous's avatar

With Relief Line South the area south of Pape Station to Broadview (East Harbour) was underground while with the Ontario Line it is elevated along the Go lines. When the Relief Line was studies, did they factor in how they were go to go over or under the DVP and the Don River to get to Downtown? Just Curious?

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 15, 2021 - 12:14

How is Metrolinx protecting the OL to political drama. Ford will win based on all the polling & his work for the everyday people, Both the NDP/Liberals have come out & said they will not cancel any shovel ready projects. What if the Liberals/NDP are lying & somehow win the election & cancel the OL or change considerable portions leading to delays?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:51

We’ll tailor our protections to each area depending on the work that’s taking place. Options include using construction equipment silencers and muffling devices, but we’ll explore many other methods that can minimize vibrations. We’ll also be coordinating construction schedules so that noisy work happens when it makes the most sense.

We are also preparing a full Environmental Impact Assessment Report (EIAR), which will include studies and proposals for managing noise and vibration impacts during both construction and operation of the line. The EIAR is tracking to be released in January 2022.

We will release the report first in draft form, so the public has an opportunity to review the report and provide feedback. The feedback we receive during the consultation period is then factored into the final report.

Anonymous's avatar

Will the tunnels be dug without having to excavate the streets at Queen and Spadina?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:52

While there will be some lane reductions at the intersection of Queen and Spadina, we will not be excavating in the roadway in this area. Though there will be a traffic diversion around the future Ontario Line interchange with Line 1’s Queen subway station, we do not anticipate any other full closures or streetcar diversions in the downtown area. We are mining the Ontario Line tunnel underground in this area between openings called ‘keyholes’, which will be located within the footprint of the station entrance buildings. Once a Project Company (PCo) is selected to deliver the project in this area, they will also finalize the designs and construction methods based on our specifications, including a Traffic Management Plan.

The traffic diversion on Queen Street will take place between Bay Street to Victoria Street, and the Queen streetcar will be re-routed between York and Church streets. Our teams looked at both partial and full diversion options and, weighing the impacts and benefits of each, recommended that all vehicle and streetcar traffic be diverted off Queen Street for four-and-a-half years (2023-2027) between James Street to Yonge Street and Yonge Street to Victoria Street.

Diverting traffic means that we can complete construction at this vital transfer point at Queen Station over a year sooner. We also chose to propose this plan because it would provide people with clearer, more consistent wayfinding for the duration of construction, rather than asking people to adapt to on-and-off and changing diversions along this section of Queen Street for an extended period of construction. You can find more information here on our website and in this Metrolinx News post.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:53

The Ontario Line will have over 40 connections to existing transit services, including:

  • connection to three different GO train services – Lakeshore West, Lakeshore East and Stouffville;
  • connections to four local rapid transit lines—two to Line 1, one to Line 2 and one to the Eglinton Crosstown LRT;
  • connections to existing streetcar lines at 10 Ontario Line stations;
  • connections to existing bus services at 12 Ontario Line stations.

You can learn more and find maps that include existing TTC routes and future connections on station webpages under the Neighbourhood Updates section of our website.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 21:56

Ontario Line is great to have. Going to the Exhibition Center nonstop would be amazing. Now, both ends of the line are pretty scientific and using the first magnetic levitation trains (in North America?) would make it a news sensation! Also, I would volunteer for the construction should there be such an opportunity. Thanks!

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:54

Thank you for your offer. We’re glad to hear you’re excited about the Ontario Line – we are, too!

The Ontario Line will feature GOA-4 trains, which are electric and driverless. The train cars are currently being designed and priced in a worldwide competition as part of the procurement process. We expect to select a company next year to deliver the trains under the Rolling Stock, Systems, Operations and Maintenance package. You can also learn more about trains and technology on our website.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 20, 2021 - 10:04

You are planning to take over the dog park at Gerrard and Carlaw during construction. Where will the temporary dog park be? We already have a problem in the community with people letting their dogs off leash in Jimmie Simpson Park. That is not allowed. You need to have an alternative near Gerrard and Carlaw. Details please.

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:54

We understand how important dedicated fenced off leash dog space is for local residents. This space will support construction in 2023 and we are actively working with the City of Toronto to identify an alternative programming space for residents that is nearby to the current dog park at Gerrard and Carlaw. Once details have been confirmed with our partners, Metrolinx and the City of Toronto will provide an update to the community.

As a reminder, once construction of the Ontario Line is complete, the Gerrard Carlaw Parkette will increase in size by 500 metres squared because Metrolinx will convert space purchased to support construction into additional green space for the community.

Anonymous's avatar
Nov 23, 2021 - 15:35

Is there a plan to allow development on the lands of existing and future subway stations?

Metrolinx's avatar

Metrolinx
Dec 5, 2021 - 15:56

Working with the local community, Metrolinx and Infrastructure Ontario are focused on identifying and advancing Transit Oriented Communities for some of the 15 planned stations for the Ontario Line.

Although Ontario Line plans protect for future expansion, Metrolinx and Infrastructure Ontario are current focused on the existing stations being delivered through the Ontario Line. As for the current subway stations, the City of Toronto and TTC are responsible for any development.